top of page
Search
  • Sandy Pflug

"There are only so many tomorrows."

This is part of a quote which is attributed to Michael Landon Jr. and should be my mantra throughout garden season. I will admit that I am pretty adept at procrastination especially when it comes to the final clean up of my vegetable garden. Either I need a firm kick in the pants to get me motivated or some magical beings who will take pity on me, tidy up and plant out my garlic bulbs for next year's crop.


Anyone who gardens knows that it can be a pretty intensive activity from May through to September depending on how much real estate you are dealing with and your level of commitment. I'm either planting, feeding, weeding, mulching, watering, deadheading, or harvesting for much of that time. While I do find the process very satisfying and enjoy the "fruits" of my labour immensely, as the days get shorter and cooler, my sights turn more to indoor activities that have often been neglected in the previous months. So, when the end of October rolls around and I should be outside removing spent plants and doing a final weeding, I have other more interesting creative tasks that I have begun to pursue. I tell myself that "Surely there should be several days yet in November that will be comfortable for working in the garden." Heck, one year I planted garlic as late as Dec 5 (my birthday so I won't forget that date). It was a balmy 12 degrees C! And besides, I'm usually still harvesting a few vegetables at this time. I don't need to be in a rush.



Well this year was a stark reminder that Mother Nature sets the agenda. Not me. October in Bowmanville was a fairly average month weather wise and I was indeed still picking some vegetables. Also, I was very focused on finishing a polymer clay order before my mother arrived for a week long visit at the end of the month. Well, Mom arrived, the polymer clay order was completed and then the weather took a pretty sharp turn.


Fortunately, on the 3rd of November the high was 10 degrees C and I received the nudge I needed from my mother. She responded to my observation that it was a "rather nice day" by telling me to take advantage and get outside. After some dithering, I took her advice. I have been thanking her ever since. Not everything got done that afternoon but the important task of planting my garlic was thankfully completed. I also worked until after dark and got my deck pots emptied and some plants brought inside. It quickly turned cold again and three days latter we got a light covering of snow.



On the following Sunday (last weekend) when the weather unexpectedly turned favorable again and bolstered by my previous accomplishment, I decided to forgo my plans and complete my garden clean up. The next day we had a significant snowfall with more accumulation throughout this week. I was pretty pleased with myself for seizing the moment once again. Although this early taste of winter probably won't last, there may not be any more really nice days for working outside and frost may begin to set in the ground. I really don't wish to repeat my 2018 experience of having to dig partially frozen soil in order to plant 100+ garlic bulbs.


Hopefully, as winter approaches in 2020, I will remember how much more pleasant it is to get out during those warm days as they arise toward the end of October. Otherwise, I may have to resort to a "wing and a prayer" in order to get my fall chores done and my garlic put to rest for it's winter sleep. I've been thinking about making a little fairy portal that could be placed in garden just in case procrastination gets the better of me. Maybe some magical beings could be encouraged to give me a hand. If you'd like to see what I have in mind, join me for my next blog post when I'll have a drawing of the portal ready to share.




45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page